Monster Afghan – George

Scrap yarn seems to be becoming my thing here…

Anyway, quick story. So while tyeing up some scraps at work I happened to be discussing color work with a coworker. We were more or less discussing the way cretin yarns lend themselves to colorwork more then others. I held up the ball of scrappy yarn I was working on and said “How do you think color work would look in this?”

So now I’m making a monster afghan.

Thus I present George.

Why George, because everyone kept calling him Squishy and he will not be called Squishy. I hate Finding Nemo so very, very much. But the line “K shall call him Squishy and he shall be mine and he shall be my Squishy,” makes me think instead of “I shall hug him and squeeze him and call him George,” from Looney Toons. Thus, since everyone called it Squishy when they looked at the chart, meet George.

George is the first block of a Scrappy Monster Afghan. I’m just giving the chart here, but will give you details about the rest of the square. He certainly doesn’t need to be worked with scrap yarn, it’s a nice simple chart if you just want to practice your color work.

I used Fair Isle. I don’t recommend it. No matter how much you hate intarsia it really is the best bet here. I had long enough runners in the back I had to cut and tie them off, just because I was being stubborn. As my finished afghan was already planned to have a backing anyway this didn’t matter much to me, but Intesa really will save you pains here.

If your scrolling through this is the important bit here:

Yarns:

I used worsted for the background color (I think it’s Red Heart, it came out of a bin the garage.) Same for the detail colors.

For the scrapy yarn I paired it with a fingering so it came out roughly worsted weight. For mine this got a bit tricky because I had bits of bulky and fingering weight as well as worsted in the scrap yarn base itself. Really though it all gaged out surprisingly okay. If your not using scrap yarn go ahead and use another worsted here obviously.

For anyone who doesn’t know how scrappy yarn works it is little bits of various yarns (usually the bits you trim off at the ends of projects and such) tied together and double stranger with a solid yarn.

Needles:

US 9s were what I went with, but that was to fix my gauge issue with the bulky weight in my scrap yarn. If you are using scrap yarn it is a safe size to stick with. If not, I would take it down to US 8s or 7s to give you a tighter fabric.

Details:

As I said I’m just putting the chart here. But to achieve my block I cast on 45 and worked 72 rows. This means I have 10 rows before and after the chart starts and 5 stitches on either side of it. You can add or deduct here to your hearts content. Or put it on whatever you like. Go nuts.

Chart:

Chart Image

Hope you enjoyed. More monster charts to come.

Leave a Reply

